Read more

Manifesto

Keewe was born out of an initial question: how can we ensure that SMEs that have neither the human resources, nor the time, nor the financial resources are able to kick-off their ecological transition?

Taking this crucial turn means transforming the company's activity to be greener: reducing the compnay's GHG emissions.

Before planning your action plan to reduce your GHG emissions, it is necessary to measure them in order to understand where, in the company's lifecycle, these emissions are located. This is the famous triptych "count to know, know to act, act to reduce".

However, in France, only companies with more than 500 employees must carry out a greenhouse gas emissions assessment (also known as a regulatory BEGES report), leaving out all the SMEs and a large proportion of the Mid-Cap corporates. It is therefore not surprising that over 70% of SMEs have never heard of carbon accounting!

In this case, it is difficult to commit to the ecological transition, let alone make it a success!

However, France has commited to reaching carbon neutrality by 2050. Consequently, SMEs, which account for 15% of the country's GHG emissions, cannot be left out of the ecological transition for much longer. This is already being confirmed. The Economic, Social and Environmental Council (ESEC) notes, for example:

"Carbon accounting is a privileged instrument for making progress towards carbon neutrality. Public or private companies, through their procurement policy, will also increasingly expect from small companies or networks of subcontractors to align with more stringent low carbon requirements. This is already the case in the most integrated industries such as aviation or the automobile.

However, carrying out a carbon footprint assessment is expensive, and this is therefore a blocking factor for SMEs.

We started with a strong fact: 56% of France's carbon footprint comes from international trade. This is logical: international trade usually means manufacturing in countries where the energy mix is carbon-intensive and transporting goods around the world, which of course generate GHG emissions.

From this point on, our background as bankers came to the fore: international trade outside the EURO zone (and therefore where there is the most transport, and therefore the most emissions) implies that clients carry out banking operations in currencies other than the EURO. Many SMEs have a supplier in China whom they pay in USD. They therefore need to sell EURO to buy USD and pay their supplier.

Banks generated more than EUR 150 billion on currency exchange operations in 2020 in the Europe / Middle East region. There is a rent there that must be used to finance the ecological transition of SMEs.
It therefore seemed obvious to us that finance, and more particularly the foreign exchange market (forex), could and should serve as a vehicle for the ecological transition.

How do we do this?

We have married finance to the ecological transition by positing a common sense postulate: the planet is behind every human activity. That’s why we developed the green cashback (“dividend planète”) — on each transaction a percentage of our margin is paid back to the client who can use it to finance their ecological transition.

This is how we invented the green cashback. For every euro we generate, we give up to 25% of it to our clients.

Thanks to their international operations, SMEs can measure their carbon footprint free of charge and leverage this cashback to start their ecological transition.

We believe that the concept of green finance should be broadened and that those two worlds should not be opposed. It is no longer enough to redirect savings flows towards sustainable investments. We need to generate income for the ecological transition where money creates money.

En savoir +

Manifeste

Keewe est née d’une interrogation initiale : comment faire en sorte que les PME qui n’ont ni les ressources humaines, ni le temps, ni les ressources financières réussissent leur transition écologique ?

Prendre le tournant de la transition écologique implique de transformer son activité pour la rendre plus verte, c’est-à-dire moins émettrice de gaz à effet de serre (GES).

Mais avant de réfléchir à la façon dont réduire ses émissions de GES, il convient de les mesurer afin de comprendre où, dans le cycle de vie de l’entreprise, se trouvent ces émissions. C’est le fameux triptyque « compter pour savoir, savoir pour agir, agir pour réduire ».

Or, en France, seules les entreprises de plus de 500 employés ont l’obligation de réaliser un Bilan d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre (aussi appelé BEGES), laissant de côté toutes les TPE-PME et une grande partie de ETI. C’est donc sans surprise que plus 70% des PME n’ont jamais entendu parler de comptabilité carbone !

Difficile dans ce cas de s’engager dans la transition écologique, sans parler de la réussir !

Pour autant, la France a pris l’engagement d’atteindre la neutralité carbone à l’horizon 2050. Dès lors, les PME, qui représentent 15% des émissions de GES du pays, ne pourront plus être tenues à l’écart de la transition écologique très longtemps. Cela se confirme d’ailleurs dès à présent. Le Conseil Économique, Social et Environnemental (CESE) note par exemple :

« La comptabilité carbone est un instrument privilégié pour progresser vers la  neutralité carbone. Elle sera aussi de plus en plus une demande des donneurs d’ordre publics ou privés envers les petites entreprises ou pour les réseaux de sous-traitants dans les professions les plus intégrées comme l’aviation ou l’automobile.»

Cependant un Bilan Carbone® coûte cher, et c’est donc un point bloquant pour les PME.

Nous sommes partis d’une donnée forte : 56% de l’empreinte carbone de la France provient du commerce international. C’est logique : qui dit commerce international dit transport et donc émissions de GES.

À partir de là, notre passé de banquier a fait surface : le commerce international hors zone EURO (et donc là où il y a le plus de transport, et donc le plus d’émission) implique que les clients réalisent des opérations bancaires dans des devises autres que l’EURO. Nos PME ont pour beaucoup un fournisseur en Chine qu’elles payent en USD. Il leur faut donc vendre des EURO pour acheter l’USD et régler leur fournisseur.  

Les banques ont généré plus de 150 milliards d’EUR sur les opérations d’échange de devises en 2020 dans la région Europe / Middle-East. Il y a là une rente qui doit être utilisée pour financer la transition écologique des PME.
Il nous a dès lors semblé évident que la finance, et plus particulièrement le marché des devises (forex) pouvait et devait servir de véhicule à la transition écologique.

Comment faisons-nous ?

Nous avons marié la finance à la transition écologique en posant un postulat de bon sens : la planète est un actionnaire de référence de toutes les activités humaines et il faut donc lui payer son dividende.

C’est ainsi que nous avons inventé le cashback écologique. Sur chaque euro que nous générons nous en reversons jusqu’à 25% à nos clients.

Grâce à leurs opérations internationales, les PME peuvent alors mesurer gratuitement leur empreinte carbone et mettre de côté ce cashback pour enclencher leur transition écologique.

Nous pensons qu’il faut élargir le concept de finance verte et ne pas opposer deux mondes. Il ne suffit plus aujourd’hui de réorienter les flux de l’épargne vers des investissements sustainable. Il faut générer une rente en faveur de la transition écologique là où l’argent crée l’argent.